Manjaro LXDE 17.0.1

VM - Manjaro LXDE 17.0.1

With LXQt taking over for LXDE I wasn’t sure we’d see another Manjaro LXDE release. After firing this one up, I’m glad I was wrong. Immediately after booting the LiveCD I saw that they had fixed the ugly icon setup they had last time I tried this. Then while going through the install I noticed something awesome, The Calamares netinstall functionality. Finally a way to cut out some of the unwanted programs before they ever get installed. I unchecked a chunk of programs and breezed through the rest of the install without an issue. Once into the installed system I switched the theme to dark, ran updates, installed a few programs and was in business. I then also found out that this spin supports SMB connections out of the box. No more needing to install gvfs-smb manually. While I haven’t put a ton of time into this spin yet, I am quite happy with the changes made since last using it and plan to put in some more time with it.

Leave a Reply

