I finally found a distro for my Pavilion dv2500

HP - Solus 2017.01.01.png

Back in December I was looking for something to do with my old HP Pavilion dv2500. Then in January I took Solus for a roll in a VM. I ended up being really impressed with Solus. So impressed I decided I wanted to find some real hardware for it to live on. Well things worked out and I now have Solus on my dv2500. It is not the fastest machine due to the fact it is about 10 years old but I works rather well. It actually works good enough that I don’t mind pulling out this laptop and using it for a bit now. The install was simple but I had no wifi and like most other distros it thought I had a 2nd screen attached. The wifi was a quick fix with the hardware manager. I clicked the Broadcom wireless, told it to use it, then an install and reboot later I was in business. The 2nd screen issue required me to open the display program and turn off the 2nd screen…pretty easy. Again I am completely impressed how a young, independent distro could work so well. I thought for sure it would fall short on hardware support but so far so good.

Leave a Reply

