Fedora 24 on Multisystem USB

I tend to keep installers for a number of distros I like on a USB drive so I can quickly boot them up on different hardware. To do this I use Multisystem. I have been using it for quite a while and have learned it is not always the most friendly thing but it is the only program I have found that can accomplish what I want the way I want it. After testing out Fedora LXDE 24 recently I decided I wanted to keep it ready to go on my drive. I loaded it in Multisystem like normal but I kept getting an error when I tried to boot it. The error said that it could not find /fedora1/isolinux/vmlinuz0. So I checked that folder and found out that file didn’t exist and it was actually named vmlinuz (no 0 at the end). I took a quick look at the grub code and made some adjustments.

Original:

linux /fedora1/isolinux/vmlinuz0 live_locale=en_US.utf8 live_keytable= rd.live.dir=/fedora1 root=UUID=337A-2EB5 rootfstype=auto ro rd.live.image quiet rhgb rd.luks=0 rd.md=0 rd.dm=0
initrd /fedora1/isolinux/initrd0.img

Fixed

linux /fedora1/isolinux/vmlinuz live_locale=en_US.utf8 live_keytable= rd.live.dir=/fedora1 root=UUID=337A-2EB5 rootfstype=auto ro rd.live.image quiet rhgb rd.luks=0 rd.md=0 rd.dm=0
initrd /fedora1/isolinux/initrd.img

Looking at the code I saw initrd also had a 0 at the end. I removed the zeros from both filenames and updated grub. It then boot like normal. I just wanted to put this trick out in case anyone else ran into it. I’m still having issues getting Peppermint 7 to work with Multisystem but if I find a fix I will post it as well.

Leave a Reply

