Ubuntu MATE 15.10 on Raspberry Pi 2

Ubuntu MATE 15.10 RPi2

Before wiping and reloading this SD card with Ubuntu MATE 16.04 I decided to take another quick look at this OS. It doesn’t have the level of programs that Raspbian has but aesthetically it is great. When I got my original Raspberry Pi I understood it lacked the power to worry about looks. Its nice to see that it now has the power to push a decent looking UI. One issue I found with Ubuntu MATE is the short lifespan. While Raspbian versions don’t change often, Ubuntu versions come out every six months. While that is fine for some PCs, I don’t feel like rebuilding a Raspberry Pi that often. Playing with this actually makes me more eager to try Manjaro on the Pi.

Leave a Reply

