Mageia 6 Dev1

Mageia 6 Dev1

The first thing I noticed was it was not a live CD, it booted right into the installer. This is fine but with an over 4GB ISO I expected a live session. The installers feels a bit dated and in Virtualbox a number of the prompts don’t show up properly on the screen. Once I got it installed it seemed to run pretty well. Definitely the most stable KDE5 I’ve used recently. However the wallpaper did revert back to the default one a few times. As I ran updates I noticed 2 things: 1. Mageia tends to hang when rebooting in VBox 2. The icons in MCC all changed for the better. It wasn’t perfect but I’m looking forward to trying it again once the stable release arrives.

Leave a Reply

